2017 Excellence in Club Management Award Winners Announced

By | January 12th, 2018

The 2017 honorees through the prestigious awards co-sponsored by Club & Resort Business and the McMahon Group include Joseph Krenn of Farmington Country Club, Kenneth Kouril of The Sanctuary Golf Club and Mitchell Platt of the Cosmos Club. Brian Baldwin of Baltusrol Golf Club and Anne Stryhn of The Country Club of Virginia will share “Rising Star” recognition through the 2017 awards. All of the winners will be recognized at an Awards Dinner held at the Olympic Club in San Francisco on March 3.

Club & Resort Business and the McMahon Group, Inc., the St. Louis-based consulting firm, have announced the 2017 recipients of the Excellence in Club Management (ECM) Awards, established in 1997 by the McMahon Group and co-sponsored since 2005 by C&RB.

The annual awards are selected through nominations submitted on behalf of qualified candidates by other parties. Award recipients are selected solely on the basis of their achievements at the club they currently manage; “lifetime achievements” are not considered.

A Selection Committee comprised of a peer group of club managers conducts the judging for the ECM Awards; the McMahon Group and Club & Resort Business are not involved in the selection of the winners.

The Selection Committee for the 2017 Awards was chaired by Jeffrey Kreafle, General Manager/COO of Congressional Country Club in Bethesda, Md. A full listing of judges, in addition to information on past winners and on how to nominate candidates for future years’ awards, can be found at the special website for the ECM Awards, www.clubmanageraward.com.

The 2017 Excellence in Club Management winners, along with those from previous years, will be recognized at an Awards Dinner to be held at the Olympic Club in San Francisco on Saturday, March 3, 2018, in conjunction with the 2018 World Conference of the Club Managers Association of America. The Awards Dinner will be sponsored by ClubCorp, Denehy Club Thinking Partners, ForeTees, Preferred Club and Yamaha Golf Car.

Presentations will also be held at each winner’s club throughout 2018, and in-depth articles detailing the achievements that led to the selection of each of the winners will appear in issues of Club & Resort Business throughout 2018.

The 2017 Excellence in Club Management winners are:

The James H. Brewer Award (Country/Golf Clubs with 600 or More Full-Privilege Members)

Joseph Krenn, CCM, CCE, ECM, Chief Operating Officer/General Manager, Farmington Country Club, Charlottesville, Va.

The Mead Grady Award (Country/Golf Clubs with Fewer than 600 Full-Privilege Members)

Kenneth Kouril, CCM, CCE, CAM, ECM, Chief Operating Officer, The Sanctuary Golf Club, Sanibel Island, Fla. 

The Mel Rex Award (City, Athletic or Specialty (Non-Golf) Club)

Mitchell Platt, MCM, CCE, ECM, General Manager, Cosmos Club, Washington, D.C.

The 2017 Rising Star Award (tie)
Brian Baldwin, CCM, ECM, Clubhouse Manager, Baltusrol Golf Club, Springfield, N.J. and

Anne Stryhn, CCM, ECM, Assistant General Manager, The Country Club of Virginia, Richmond, Va.


Browse Similar Articles by Subject:

One Response to 2017 Excellence in Club Management Award Winners Announced

  1. Michael Mukayagi says:

    It would be great if some time in the future the award considers clubs in Afica.

    Muthaiga Golf Club, Nairobi, Kenya

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *