2015 Excellence in Club Management Award Winners Announced

By | December 21st, 2015

The 2015 honorees through the prestigious awards co-sponsored by Club & Resort Business and the McMahon Group include Michael Stott of Baltimore (Md.) Country Club; Terra Waldron of The Desert Highlands Country & Golf Club Association in Scottsdale, Ariz.; Terrence Anglin of San Diego Yacht Club; and Shawn Wilkes of Carmel Country Club in Charlotte, N.C. The winners will be recognized at an Awards Dinner held at the San Diego Yacht Club on February 23, 2016.

Club & Resort Business and the McMahon Group, Inc., the St. Louis-based consulting firm, have announced the 2015 recipients of the Excellence in Club Management (ECM) Awards, established in 1997 by the McMahon Group and co-sponsored since 2005 by C&RB.

The annual awards are selected through nominations submitted on behalf of qualified candidates by other parties. Award recipients are selected solely on the basis of their achievements at the club they currently manage; “lifetime achievements” are not considered.

A Selection Committee comprised of a peer group of club managers conducts the judging for the ECM Awards; the McMahon Group and Club & Resort Business are not involved in the selection of the winners.

The Selection Committee for the 2015 Awards was chaired by Kevin Vitale, CCM, General Manager/COO of Baltusrol Golf Club, Springfield, N.J. A full listing of judges, in addition to information on past winners and on how to nominate candidates for future years’ awards, can be found at the special website for the ECM Awards, www.clubmanageraward.com.

The 2015 Excellence in Club Management winners, along with those from previous years, will be recognized at an Awards Dinner to be held at San Diego Yacht Club on Tuesday, February 23, 2016, in conjunction with the 2016 World Conference of the Club Managers Association of America. The Awards Dinner will be sponsored by ClubCorp, Denehy Club Thinking Partners, Preferred Club, Toro and Yamaha Golf Car.

Presentations will also be held at each winner’s club throughout 2016, and in-depth articles detailing the achievements that led to the selection of each of the winners will appear in issues of Club & Resort Business throughout 2016.

The 2015 Excellence in Club Management winners are:

The James H. Brewer Award (Country/Golf Clubs with 600 or More Full-Privilege Members)
Michael R. Stott, CCM, CCE, ECM, Baltimore (Md.) Country Club

The Mead Grady Award (Country/Golf Clubs with Fewer than 600 Full-Privilege Members)
Terra S. H. Waldron, CCM, CCE, ECM, The Desert Highlands Country & Golf Club Association, Scottsdale, Ariz.

The Mel Rex Award (City, Athletic or Specialty (Non-Golf) Club)
Terrence J. Anglin, CCM, CCE, 
ECM, San Diego Yacht Club

The 2015 Rising Star Award
Shawn Wilkes, CCM, ECM, Carmel Country Club, Charlotte, N.C.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *